Ensemble Exposé: Brian Ferneyhough – Incipits (UK Première) plus Davies, Xenakis, Barrett, Dillon and Sørensen

Here’s a real treat for those who prefer their contemporary music to be at the more intellectually rewarding end of the continuum. It’s music from a concert given at the ICA in London by Ensemble Exposé (plus violist Garth Knox), under the direction of Roger Redgate, who also discusses the music being performed. The concert explored works by diverse composers, from the relatively gentle and meditative soundscapes of Paul Davies and Bent Sørensen to the more densely intricate textures of James Dillon and Richard Barrett (Barrett originally co-founded the ensemble with Redgate); Xenakis, as ever, stands apart, uniquely indescribable. It culminated in the first UK performance of Incipits by one of the greats of contemporary music, Brian Ferneyhough, a fascinating work exploring different ways to start a composition. Also included is a lengthy interview with the composer including a number of other short pieces.

Interview with Roger Redgate

FLAC [13Mb]

Paul Davies – Genji’s Visit to Utsusemi

FLAC [65Mb]

Iannis Xenakis – Embellie

FLAC [47Mb]

Richard Barrett – Anatomy

FLAC [44Mb]

James Dillon – Siorram

FLAC [39Mb]

Bent Sørensen – Funeral Procession

FLAC [54Mb]

Interview with Brian Ferneyhough (includes Supercriptio, Etudes Transendentales No. 3 and Adagissimo)

FLAC [75Mb]

Brian Ferneyhough – Incipits (UK Première)

FLAC [74Mb]

Posted on by 5:4 in Premières
Tags: , , , , ,

6 Responses to Ensemble Exposé: Brian Ferneyhough – Incipits (UK Première) plus Davies, Xenakis, Barrett, Dillon and Sørensen

  1. Aart

    It seems that the flac file of Incipits by Ferneyhough is corrupt. Would it be possible to fix it? Thanks!

  2. 5:4

    The file is fine, Aart – try downloading again.

  3. Aart

    The strange thing is that I'm still getting an error. I tried to verify the checksum, but it didn't work:

    1997-11-07_Brian_Ferneyhough_-_Incipits_(UKP).flac: testing, 16% complete
    1997-11-07_Brian_Ferneyhough_-_Incipits_(UKP).flac: *** Got error code 3:FLAC__STREAM_DECODER_ERROR_STATUS_UNPARSEABLE_STREAM
    1997-11-07_Brian_Ferneyhough_-_Incipits_(UKP).flac: *** Got error code 0:FLAC__STREAM_DECODER_ERROR_STATUS_LOST_SYNC
    1997-11-07_Brian_Ferneyhough_-_Incipits_(UKP).flac: ERROR while decoding data

    The FLAC stream may have been created by a more advanced encoder. Try
    metaflac –show-vendor-tag 1997-11-07_Brian_Ferneyhough_-_Incipits_(UKP).flac
    If the version number is greater than 1.2.1, this decoder is probably
    not able to decode the file. If the version number is not, the file
    may be corrupted, or you may have found a bug. In this case please
    submit a bug report to
    Make sure to use the "Monitor" feature to monitor the bug status.

  4. 5:4

    All i can tell you is that the file plays perfectly for me in all audio software. i've downloaded the file again this morning & it plays perfectly.

  5. Martin Walker

    I first clicked on the file, then when the speaker announces the performance at 2:24 the file jumped back to the beginning, and I had to move it forward manually to 2:25 to get the beginning. I tried this a couple of times with the same result. But when I play it on VLC it plays through. So apparently the default player couldn’t quite deal with the file, which is obviously not quite unproblematic, unlike all the other files I have downloaded from your wonderful site.
    Thank you so much.
    Best wishes,

    • 5:4

      Thanks for this Martin – looks like i need to apologise, as having looked under the hood it’s clear that the ‘Incipits’ file is indeed corrupt; the FLAC stream has got messed up somewhere/somehow, even though it seems to play fine in most programs. So i’ve made a fresh version (omitting all the opening spiel; i’ve been going through all the older recordings removing this, so it starts immediately with the music) which should solve the problem once and for all. Sorry!

Add a Comment

Anti-Spam Quiz:

%d bloggers like this: