Mixtape #19 : Best Albums of 2010

by 5:4


It’s 1 January, which means it’s 5:4‘s birthday, and today we’re three years old. Having spent several days looking back on last year’s most outstanding releases, what better way could there be to start the new year than with a new mixtape, featuring one track from each of my forty best albums of 2010. As you’d expect, it’s another extremely eclectic mix, and this time lasts a little over three-and-a-half hours. If you like the mix (and how could you not?!), please support the artists and buy their excellent music.

Here’s the tracklisting in full (click the image for high-resolution artwork):

Jenks Miller and Nicholas Szczepanik – White Light (from American Gothic)
Supersilent – 10.8 (from 10)
Talvihorros – Thoughts of Violence [excerpt] (from Music In Four Movements)
Greg Haines – In the Event of a Sudden Loss [excerpt] (from Until The Point Of Hushed Support)
Jexper Holmen – Intend-Ascend (from getString)
Noveller – Toothnest (For Chris Habib) (from Desert Fires)
Supersilent – 11.5 (from 11)
Ekca Liena – Sleep (Minimal) (from Sleep Paralysis (Expansion Tracks))
Autechre – d-sho qub (from Oversteps)
Oneohtrix Point Never – Nil Admirari (from Returnal)
Clem Leek – Cliff Castle (from Holly Lane)
Tor Lundvall – Tears and Rain (from Ghost Years)
*AR – Rest (from Wolf Notes)
O.Children – Heels (from O.Children)
Robyn – Time Machine (from Body Talk)
Benjamin Dauer – Duotone Pulse (from Burning of Wine)
Jónsi – Sinking Friendships (from Go)
Solo Andata – Myrmecia (from Ritual)
Demdike Stare – Regolith (from Liberation Through Hearing)
Svarte Greiner – B1 [excerpt] (from Penpals Forever (and Ever))
Anders Brødsgaard – Monk’s Mixtures – II. Walking (Passacaglia) (from Galaxy)
Get Well Soon – Seneca’s Silence (from Vexations)
Celer – Pummeled Light Contracts, and You May Regret Distances (from Honey Moon)
Belle and Sebastian – I Want The World To Stop (from Write About Love)
Ambarchi/O’Rourke/Haino – Tima Formosa 1 [excerpt] (from Tima Formosa)
Jonathan Uliel Saldanha – Chasm (from The Earth as a Floating Egg)
CocoRosie – Fairy Paradise (from Grey Oceans)
Yui Onodera and Celer – The Street of a Rainy, Gray Day [excerpt] (from Generic City)
Hans Zimmer – Mombasa (from Inception)
Matthew Herbert – Mahler Symphony X Recomposed (4) (from Mahler Symphony X Recomposed)
Heidika – Limn (Reworked) (from Untitled)
Of Montreal – Like a Tourist (from False Priest)
United Bible Studies – The Gascoigne Observatory [excerpt] (from The Gascoigne Observatory)
Clouwbeck – The Water’s Burden [excerpt] (from From Which the River Rises)
Celer – On the Edges of Each Season (from Dying Star)
Stefano Scodanibbio – Oltracuidansa [excerpt] (from Oltracuidansa)
Christopher McFall – Drips Of Desperate Sea (from The Anatomical Submissiveness Of Lions)
Keith Fullerton Whitman – Disingenuousness [excerpt] (from Disingenuity/Disingenuousness)
The Birthday Massacre – Control (from Pins and Needles)
Chubby Wolf – On Burnt, Gauzed Wings [excerpt] (from Ornitheology)

Notify of
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

I am a recent convert to your site. Many thanks for the vast range of pieces covered.I see that it is your third anniversary. Congrats! Keep up the grand work.


great… my night is ruined! happy new year… and here is a new track also : http://soundcloud.com/xenofonx/failing-lake-mer-wer-reworki/s-cWBvr


I certainly do expect to like it – thanks very much! And H.N.Y. to you as well. Your blog is much appreciated!

Click here to respond and leave a commentx